Spain Flag Spain

Country Overview

Business Culture

Clothing Size Guides


Cost of Living

Culture and Society


Driving and Autos

Economy and Trade


Educational Resources


Export Process

Food Culture and Drink



Health and Medical


Holidays and Festivals

Import Process


Kids' Stuff


Life Stages


Media Outlets

Money and Banking



National Symbols

Points of Interest

Quality of Life

Real Estate


Security Briefing

Social Indicators

Travel Essentials

Travel Essentials: Visa and Passport

Summary of Requirements


  • A valid passport, or national ID card for European Economic Area and Swiss citizens, is required for all travelers


  • Not required for citizens of countries listed in Visa-Exempt below, including Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, United Kingdom, and United States
  • Required for citizens of countries listed in Visa Required below

Return Ticket

  • Required to obtain a visa

Additional Restrictions

  • Citizens of some countries are required to obtain visas for transit through Spanish airports; see Visa Required


Citizens of the European Union, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein may provide a National Identity Card or a valid passport.

Citizens of all other countries are required to present a valid passport.


Citizens of Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States are visa-exempt.


Spain is a party to the Schengen Agreement. Citizens of the Schengen Area are visa-exempt. The Schengen Agreement allows travel without restriction in the Schengen area for up to three months. Countries observing the Schengen Agreement are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. The only European Union countries that do not participate in the Schengen Agreement are Ireland and the United Kingdom. Citizens of all of these countries may enter Spain without a visa.

Citizens of the following countries and territories are also visa-exempt for one tourist or business visit of up to 90 days in a six-month period: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, British Nationals Overseas, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Israel, Japan, Liechtenstein, Macao SAR, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Serbia (holders of biometric passports only), Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, and Venezuela.

Visa Required

Citizens of the following countries are required to obtain a visa to enter Spain: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territories, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Citizens of British Overseas Territories, British Overseas, British Subjects, and British Protected Persons are also required to obtain a visa to enter Spain.

Citizens of the following countries are required to obtain visas for transit through Spanish airports: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, and Sri Lanka.

Visa Requirements

Required documents for a short duration (90-day) Schengen visa: 

  • Completed visa application
  • Valid travel document
  • Documentation of accommodation reservation or a letter from a private Spanish citizen inviting the traveler
  • Round-trip or tour ticket
  • Confirmation of trip itinerary
  • Businesspersons/students must provide an invitation from the Spanish citizen, company, convention, educational institution, training facility, etc. hosting the visitor

This visa is valid for a visit of up to 90 days in a six-month period. Please note that in some cases, additional documents and requirements may apply.

Visa Types

Spain also issues long-stay (national) visas/permits for the following purposes:

  • Student/research visa
  • Work visa
  • Residence exempt of work permit
  • Residence visa for retiree
  • Residence visa for religious activities
  • Non-lucrative residence visa
  • Family
  • Student
  • Research
  • Diplomatic/official

More Information

Note that passport and visa information is subject to change. Also, requirements for specialty visas can be complex. Travelers are advised to obtain the most current information from the primary source. For more information about visas, residence, and immigration, as well as application forms and fee information, visit the website for Spain’s Ministry of External Affairs and Cooperation (Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores y de Cooperación) at, or contact the nearest Spanish Embassy or Consulate.

Sources: Ministry of External Affairs and Cooperation, Spain; US Department of State